Total Lunar Eclipse – Only a few hours

Only a few hours left before the start of the Total Lunar Eclipse of October 2014.  Unfortunately the weather won’t be cooperating as the forecast calls for cloud and rain in my parts of the woods.  But no worries, the SLOOH telescope will be broadcasting the event live!  Event starts October 8th 5:00AM EDT .

live.slooh.com

Stargazers worldwide are invited to watch the spectacular Total Lunar Eclipse, sometimes known as the “Blood Moon,” unfold live on Slooh. The free, real-time broadcast will begin on October 8th starting at 2:00 AM PDT / 5:00 AM EDT / 0900 UTC with live feeds from multiple locations located in Australia and North America. This eclipse will be difficult to view for most of the planet as it mainly takes place over the Pacific Ocean. As such, the eclipse will only be visible in its entirety from parts of eastern Australia, New Zealand, eastern Asia, most of Japan, Hawaiian Islands, and the western part of North America. But fear not – Slooh will have strategic sites in these locations allowing the world to view the eclipse live on Slooh.com

 

Another webcast is available over at the Coca Cola Space Science Center.

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s