November 13, Nearly Full Moon

Making diner and notice that it’s getting dark outside and there’s not a cloud in the sky.  Wait! What time does the Moon rise? 4:54pm it should already be 5 degrees in the sky.  Run to the front of the house and look out the door, but no Moon.  Hmmm… maybe I’m too low and the houses across the street are blocking the view.  Head up one floor and look out the bedroom window!  Ah there it is.  OK kids, who wants to go see the SuperMoon!  I grab my camera as my kids run for their boots and jacket.  I figure that from the street corner I should have a good line of sight.  Once there I ask my son to hold his arms up in the air as if grabbing the moon.  I need to get down pretty low on my knees to get everything lined up.  After a few repeated instructions to open or close his hands, to which he responds with a “Are you done yet!”  I take a few long exposures under the street lamps. No tripod so 1/8sec and ISO 800 it is.  Then took a few more of just the Moon with shorter exposures to avoid causing the Moon to become saturated (1/200sec ISO200)

A bit of photo editing and the end result.

November 13th 2016 Full Moon - just ahead of the Super Moon.

November 13th 2016 Full Moon – just ahead of the Super Moon.

1 thought on “November 13, Nearly Full Moon

  1. Pingback: Live-Blog zum „Super“-Vollmond-Trubel & mehr | Skyweek Zwei Punkt Null

Leave a comment